Return to Website

Post a message or simply read what others have written and answered. Rachel, a RightStart™ Math user and one of our customer care people, will be monitoring this forum. She will respond to your questions as needed.

Have a great day and remember to play a math card game! 

Welcome
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Benchmarks

Hi,

I am new to homeschooling. My kids are kindergarten and preschool age. I am having a hard time determining what I need to be teaching them at this age and if I am covering enough. We are beginning Right Start level A. Is my goal that they finish all of level A this year? I know I need to be worried more about them mastering a subject before we move on, but I also feel like I need some type of benchmark to know that we are staying on track.

Thanks,
Britt

Re: Benchmarks

Hi, Britt!

I think that is the hardest question when starting homeschooling - am I doing too much...too little...am I on target??? The truth is, we need to teach our children to their learning speed. Sometimes, it is faster. Sometimes, it is slower.

As a general rule, I like to complete a level each year. So, for your kindergartner, you should probably complete Level A in her kindergarten year. That may mean that some weeks you will do a lesson a day and some weeks you may only be able to complete one lesson the entire week! I have been known to teach a lesson for an entire week (sometimes longer) and other times, I have taught more than one lesson in a day.

That is the beauty of homeschooling. It is taylored education for your child.

So, as far as putting a benchmark on the education, I would just recommend that you aim to complete a level a year. If you find that your child is struggling, slow down the lessons. If you find that the topics are easy for your child, speed them up.

I would also like to say one thing about the levels and grades. Here is the general breakdown:

Level A - Kindergarten
Level B - 1st grade
Level C - 2nd grade