Return to Website

Post a message or simply read what others have written and answered. Rachel, a RightStart™ Math user and one of our customer care people, will be monitoring this forum. She will respond to your questions as needed.

Have a great day and remember to play a math card game! 

Welcome
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Learning Curve to Teaching RS Level B?

I have been using Level B with my dd age 5 1/2 for about 3 months now. We've been going slow (we're only on lesson 15) partly because of her age and partly because I feel like I have a hard time following/understanding the lesson manual. Maybe it's the layout, I'm not sure. Maybe I should spend a few minutes the night before reading through the lesson. Does anyone else feel like there was a learning-curve to implementing this curriculum? Also, how long should each lesson take? I find that I have to break it into three parts or so because her attention span just can't do more than 20 minutes. How often should I play games with her to reinforce the concepts? So far, there has only been 2 games mentioned in the manual to use...

Thanks for answering my questions!
Stacy in AZ

Re: Learning Curve to Teaching RS Level B?

Hello Stacy,

Yes, there is a learning curve for the parent, I find around 3-6 months for the mother to get the hang of teaching the program. This program is different then most math programs available and it is different from how we were taught, so there is a learning curve. I went through it and nearly every mother I have met using this program has gone through this learning curve.

Half the battle is trusting that this is actually a good program, we so much don’t want to ruin our children’s education we constantly question everything we do, as well we should. But there is a point in which you can go with the flow of the program and just tweak it in places to meet the exact needs of your student.